Return to Learning

EYFS Curriculum

Our Early Years Vision

  • To provide a safe, nurturing and stimulating environment which supports the growth of independence, resilience, collaboration and a love of learning
  • For children to build positive relationships with others and to demonstrate respect and care for others and their feelings
  • To provide an excellent enjoyable and inclusive education where each child is valued and enabled to achieve the highest possible outcomes
  • To value and develop a close partnership with families to facilitate close links in children’s learning and wellbeing between home and school

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework was updated in 2021 and sets the standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five.

The framework is based on 4 themes which are supported by underlying principles:

  1. A Unique Child
    Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  2. Positive Relationships
    Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. Enabling Environments
    Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.
  4. Learning & Development
    Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers te education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Areas of Learning and Development

The curriculum that we deliver in school for the children, as outlined in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is made up of 7 areas of Learning and Development. All areas of Learning and Development are connected to one another and are equally important. All areas of Learning and Development are underpinned by the Principles of the EYFS as outlined above.

These seven areas of learning help the teachers to plan the indoor and outdoor learning environment and the experiences that your child will have during their time in school.

Each area of Learning and Development is divided into different aspects as shown below:

Area Aspect
Communication and Language
  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Self-regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships
Physical Development
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fina Motor Skills
  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing
  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns
Understanding the World
  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World
Expressive Arts and Design
  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive


Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA)

From September 2021 the children will be assessed within six weeks of entering the school. The purpose of the assessment is to provide the starting point that will help parents and professionals understand how well schools support their pupils to progress between reception and Year 6 (the end of Keystage 2)

The RBA is a short, interactive and practical assessment of a child’s early literacy, communication, language and mathematics skills when they begin school, using materials that most childrden will be familiar with.

Information for Parents – RBA

Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (EYFSP)

Each area of learning has a number of Early Learning Goals (ELG). These goals establish expectations for children to reach by the end of their reception year.

At the end of Reception, teachers assess children against the points set out in the Foundation Stage Profile for each of the seven areas of Learning and Development.

When the children reach the end of their reception year:-

  • Some may still be working towards the Early Learning Goals
  • Others will have achieved some of the Early Learning Goals
  • Others will have achieved all of them and may be working within the beginning of the Keystage 1 curriculum

A child is said to be at a good level of development if they achieve all of the Early Learning Goals in each of the Prime Areas and in Literacy and Mathematics.

Child Initiated Learning (ChIL)

Play is a very important part of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. It is a key way in which children learn and gives children the opportunity of developing the Characteristics of Effective Learning.

They are given time during ChIL to practice new skills in all areas and show their understanding through play based learning, supported by adults where appropriate. ChIL time is where the most effective formative assessment takes place and this informs the planning for future adult led activities.