Return to Keystage 1 Curriculum

Keystage 1 Overview

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum starts at Keystage 1 (infants) and continues through to Keystage 2 (Juniors) and on into Keystage 3-4 (Secondary). It builds on the learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage. All community and foundation schools must follow the National Curriculum and deliver it through their own offer.

Brookland Infant and Nursery School Curriculum

Our curriculum is designed to offer breadth and balance for all areas of learning through a book based approach. High quality texts have been chosen to reflect the interests of the children or to inspire them in new ways. Together we explore the texts in depth, reading, discussing, researching, and thus developing a secure understanding of the learning.

The skills, knowledge and vocabulary for all subjects are sequenced across the school from Nursery onwards, so that children can build upon prior experiences or knowledge. Our curriculum also helps children develop a growth mind-set leading to the acquisition of good learning behaviours and emotional resillience.

The National Curriculum is organised on the basis of ‘core’ and ‘other foundation’ subjects. In Keystage 1 they are:

Core Subjects Foundation Subjects
English Computing
Maths Geography
Science History
Physical Education
Design and Technology
Art and Design
Religious Education
Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) /
Sex and Relationship Education (SRE)

These subject areas form a broad and balanced curriculum. The subjects are not always separated but may be integrated as children may be learning or practising more than one skill through an activity. Activities planned will cater for different abilities within the class by adjusting the activities or by the expected outcome. Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) acts like a thread that runs through the whole structure of the school and the curriculum.